Sunday, December 6, 2009

Eastern University - Bangladesh

Vision, Missions and Goals:
Eastern University was established in 2003 under the Private University Act 1992, as amended in 1998. The vision of Eastern University is to become a leading University in South Asia in its chosen fields of higher education. Its mission is to be a "Center of Excellence" by setting a new standard of quality teaching and quality education in Bangladesh, keeping in view the challenges of the 21st century. Its goal is to produce future leaders with knowledge and skills essential for leadership in country's private and public sector enterprises in the increasingly competitive and globalized environment.
The governance of the University is affected by several bodies: the Board of Governors (BOG), the Syndicate, the Academic Council (AC), Finance Committee, Planning and Development Committee, Faculty Selection and Placement Committee, Official and Staff Selection Committee, Procurement Committee, Curriculum Committee and Disciplinary Committee.
The key policy making decisions are taken by the Syndicate which consists of all the members of the BOG, the Vice-Chancellor, Pro Vice Chancellor, Treasurer, Deans of Faculties and Departmental Chairs. The Academic Council, headed by the Vice-Chancellor, comprises of all Deans, Advisors, and Chairs of Departments, representatives from the BOG and distinguished luminaries from various professional groups. The members of the Board of Governors include academics, litterateurs, engineers, doctors, chartered accountants, civil servants, and industrialists. Their names appear at a later section under the Heading Board of Governors.
The University has four faculties – Faculty of Arts, Faculty of Business Administration, Faculty of Engineering and Technology and Faculty of Law. The University has so far admitted more than 4000 students. The total number of Faculty members is about 130 out of which 70 are full time.
The Library with over 3000 titles and over 10,000 books and journals serves learning needs of the students and the research needs of the faculty members. Sufficient numbers of computers in different Labs of four faculties meet the computing needs of the students. Eight clubs and forums organize the co-curricular and extra-curricular activities for the students. The English Language Club helps students acquire skill in English faster. The Health Club and the Medical Officer’s Office meet the health care needs of the students of the university. The four cafeterias cater to the needs of he students, faculty and staff for fresh and hygienic food for lunch and refreshments.
The University has four campuses – one for each faculty. All the campuses are situated in the Dhanmondi R/A in Dhaka and are within walking distance from each other. The campuses are easily accessible from all corners of Dhaka city. The University’s main campus accommodating the Administration and Admission Office is located at House 15/2 on Road No. 3.
more details :

No comments:

Post a Comment